Reviews


Reviews of A Guide for Listening and Inner-Healing Prayer: Meeting God in the Broken Places, (Colorado Springs, CO: NavPress 2011) in collaboration with Tyndale House Publishing, Carol Stream, IL 2014. 

Most recent reviews are listed first. 
Please send your review to: L2G.Forum@gmail.com
Use of 5 Star system with 5 as highest and 1 as lowest book rating.

FIVE STARS ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“Great book.

                Posted by on Amazon.com on April 10, 2015.

FIVE STARS ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“Great book.

                Posted by on the Amazon.com on January 4, 2015.

MASTERS @ SPRING ARBOR UNIVERSITY ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“Beautifully written book. Most religion books are hard to read, I will read this book again and I highly recommend it.

Posted by on the Amazon.com on January 2, 2015.

FIVE STARS ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“Remarkable book, anointed, and life-changing for me.

Posted by on the Amazon.com on November 10, 2014, 2014.

BOOK is POWERFUL and TRANSFORMATIVE ★★★★★ 5 of 5

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND that you order “A Guide for Listening and Inner-Healing Prayer” for more in-depth teaching! This book can make all the difference!

Posted by Anita Albert-Watson on the Listening to God Forum on October 26, 2014.


VALUABLE RESOURCE for INNER HEALING ★★★★★ 5 of 5

 “This book had a tremendous impact on my life, helped me to know how to deal spiritually with emotional issues that plagued me for years. Perfect!”

                Posted by on Amazon.com on July 28, 2014.

Great for UNDERSTANDING HEALING PRAYER   ★★★★ 4 of 5

 “I enjoyed how thorough he was in all the possible scenarios of the process of healing. Rusty's style makes it an easy reading and he shows a deep sense of fun in how he says it.”

Posted by on Amazon.com on August 13, 2014.

ONE of the BETTER BOOKS on the SUBJECT ★★★ 3 of 5

If you disagree with my review, then by all means write your own, but please don't post comments to argue with me about what I said. Respectfully, this is a book review, not an invitation to a debate.

'Just pray more and read your Bible more.'

That in a nutshell seems to be the common, well-intended default advice for people who have become Christians, but still struggle with many of the same emotional issues that plagued them as unbelievers. However, if the above-referenced prescription was "the answer", we'd all be rid of our emotional baggage by now. Sadly, many of us are not. Being human, sometimes we need that tangible "loving touch of the hand of God" (tangible in a spiritual sense anyway) to help us get over the proverbial hump. Memorizing another Bible verse or reading another chapter of Scripture has not "done it" and is likely not going to "do it", as much as we wish and hope it will.

This book deals with the concept of inner healing for Believers; in short, a method of essentially "tapping in" to the insights of the Holy Spirit - and the power of God - to get to the root of long-standing struggles (of various types) weed them out, and ultimately become free of them. The concept and techniques are somewhat theologically controversial and not without their detractors, who feel among other things that inner healing as articulated in books like this is nothing more than people using their imagination to "picture" God doing something (in this case, healing) that He may - or may not - actually be doing.

Overall, this may well be the best book on the subject I personally have come across. It lays out the concept quite effectively. That being said, I have had no real success with the method of inner healing as expressed in this, or the other similar books I have read on the topic.

Is the the approach a valid one? Some people swear by it and say it quite literally changed their lives. The results claimed by advocates warrant our attention. For me though, it has yielded no real spiritual fruit.
         
             Posted by on Amazon.com on July 14, 2014.

GREAT BOOK ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“Great book for breaking through feeling 'stuck' in your relationships and most importantly your walk with the Savior. Highly recommended for healing and forgiveness.”

 Posted by  on Amazon.com on March 13, 2014.

ENLIGHTENING BOOK ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“This book really gets to the heart of the matter. It teaches you how to listen to God and through the questions and stories, you hear things that your soul needs to hear. Easy to read - very down to earth and useful! Changed my outlook on many things within just the first 2 chapters!”

  Posted by on Amazon.com on February 3, 2014.

VERY HELPFUL ★★★★★ 5 of 5

Going through this Guide is helping me get at deep-seated stuff that I still need to deal with. Rustenbach combines a wealth of knowledge of and experience with inner-healing prayer with a very readable, simple writing style.

I very much recommend this to anyone who is willing to let God get at his or her broken areas.

           Posted by on Amazon.com on July 13, 2013

ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS IN GENRE ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“One of the best books with Judaism or Christian teachings that will send average reader back to reread or reference.”

  Posted by  on Amazon.com on November 22, 2013.

Heal the BROKENHEARTED - My Sheep Hear My Voice ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“This is a very clearly written book on how to listen and hear from God, and how to allow God to bring healing to the broken places in your life. It includes many true life stories of healing, and asks wonderful questions for your own healing journey. I have purchased several copies of this book to give to family and friends. I am in a study of this book with two close friends, and we are seeing wonderful results from using the concepts outlined in this book. It says in the Bible, that Jesus came to ‘heal the brokenhearted’, and that ‘My sheep hear My voice’. These two verses will become a reality to you as you apply the principles found in this book. I highly recommend this book.” 

Posted by on Amazon.com on October 16, 2013.
  
EXCELLENT BOOK ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“This book is in a ground-breaking area of counseling and is very well written. I highly recommend it to anyone involved in working with hurting people.”

 Posted by on Amazon.com on October 1, 2013.

INNER HEALING PRAYER ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“We are working through this book via a bible study and it is great. Very deep into your emotions and the past but helping you to find your way to PEACE with GOD.”

Posted by on Amazon.com on September 23, 2013.

FANTASTIC BOOK on LISTENING PRAYER, 
especially for non-charismatics ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“This book translated so much of what I've admired about the Pentecostal movement's understanding of prayer. It translates their contribution into language and categories that are much more accessible and Scriptural for non-Pentecostal Christians. This book has taught me to listen to and hear God speak through His word and Spirit, and has made my relationship with Him more personal.”

               Posted by on Amazon.com on September 23, 2013.


A CLASSIC in MY LIBRARY ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“This is an excellent and practical resource to help the individual get in touch with hearing God's voice in the midst of life and challenges. I've purchased and given away many copies of this book and will continue to do so. I continue to read and re-read this book.”

 Posted by sb on Amazon.com October 22, 2012.

AN EXCELLENT GUIDE ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“This was the best handling of this subject that I have read, and I have read quite a few books on this topic. The material is clearly presented and is both easy to understand and easy to implement. I really appreciated the fact that Mr. Rustenbach also explains what could keep a person from hearing from God and what to do about it. I've recommended this book already to several of my friends, and I will keep recommending it. Although the charts are hard to read on the Kindle version, Mr. Rustenbach makes them available on a website, which I also much appreciated.”

  Posted by Shari on Amazon.com April 19, 2012. 

ANSWERS to WOUNDEDNESS ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“Rusty Rustenbach's A Guide for Listening and Inner-Healing Prayer has been instrumental in guiding seven of us into a greater awareness of God's desire to speak deep into our lives. As we've learned how to better listen to God, and as we've learned more about His desire to heal past wounding in our lives, God has brought healing to some, a renewed hope for intimacy with the Father for others and an increased desire for all of us to listen to His voice. I believe that this guide can best be used by a small group whose members truly desire to hear God's voice and experience inner healing in new ways.”

  Posted by Jim Haralson on January 14, 2012 12:43:04 PM.
  
FREEDOM, TRUTH, LOVE ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“If you would like a life with these 3 words as part of it this book is definitely a must. If you are willing to look at your life honestly with a view toward change and if you are willing to listen to God for help as you do this, this book will encourage you. Filled with examples it is easy to follow and understand. Do you believe that God does really know and love you. This book shows examples of people who did not believe love of God was possible for them changed as they personally experienced it.

Rusty Rustenbach's
A Guide for Listening and Inner-Healing Prayer has been instrumental in guiding our small group into a greater awareness of God's desire to speak deeply into our lives. As we've learned how to better listen to God, and as we've learned more about His desire to heal past wounding in our lives, God has brought healing to some, a renewed hope for intimacy with the Father for others and an increased desire for all of us to listen to His voice. I believe that this guide can best be used by a small group whose members truly desire to hear God's voice and experience inner healing in new ways.”

  Posted by Lindy on Amazon.com January 14, 2012.

A GUIDE for LISTENING and INNER HEALING ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“This book is a great prayer resource for a personal or group journey. Although it speaks to the theological premise, it's packed with practical exercises to promote a more intimate journey with the Lord.”

  Posted by Ann Marie Spero on January 1, 2012.

A GUIDE for LISTENING and INNER-HEALING ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“I first found this book for my Kindle reader and loved it from the first paragraph. It has a lot of instructional information for learning how to look inside yourself and how to listen to God for direction for inner healing or just a closer walk with the Lord. I was excited to learn how to use the techniques the author recommended and to begin practicing his methods. I liked this book so well that I ordered three of the paper back versions, one for me and two for my friends. I highly recommend it for people wanting to connect with God in a personal way.”

  Posted by LadyFisher on Amazon.com 12/26/2011

WHOLENESS ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“The Book developed a framework that I will use the rest of my life for myself and for those I invest in ... to bring about wholeness. Rusty and the PRT are right that people often hit a glass ceiling in becoming like Christ. This book identifies those barriers and help you figure out how to move past them. It has helped me begin a journey that I always wished I could be on. I have finally re-engaged my heart and head and fight the spiritual warfare battle. Excellent!”

   Posted by Joseph Peer on 12/22/2011 10:21:48 AM

A GUIDE for LISTENING and INNER HEALING ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“This book, delivered in good time, is helpful by way of connecting with the Lord Jesus. It is experientially based, which is always important in trying to relate with God.”

   Posted by Mike on Amazon.com December 15, 2011.

VERY GOOD ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“I was a bit skeptical about this title, but I was pleasantly surprised. It is a sensitively written book about listening prayer and learning to hear from God. The book guides you through facilitating inner healing for yourself or someone else. There are questions after each chapter to help you meditate on what you have learned. It is written from a very humble and genuine point of view.”

   Posted by Dataskatt on Amazon.com December 7, 2011.

WORTH IT! ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“After working through this book, I would highly recommend this guide. Not only did I find healing in some areas of my life, but also how to facilitate with others. Rusty shares his life and experiences openly and helpfully. As I practice the principles with others, I am awed to see God work in helping them see issues more clearly and find healing in their hearts from long-term struggles and shame. Amazing. If someone is willing to take the time to work through this book I would venture to say it could be life-changing.”

   Posted by Robin Durgin on 12/6/2011 7:20:57 AM.

PERFECT SELF-HELP for improving YOUR SPIRITUAL LIFE         ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“I really like that this book contains questions at the end of each chapter to assess your spiritual life with Christ. The chapters nicely guide individuals through answering both simple and difficult questions to better understand his or her struggles. This book is an excellent guide for both individuals and small fellowship groups to complete and go over the questions and improves your communication skills with Christ.

However, I feel that this book is best used in a group setting, with at least one close friend who understands you well. That individual can help provide words of encouragement and help you stay accountable to completing the tasks at the end of each chapter.

My only complaint is that there are some tables in this book that are difficult to read even when enlarged to fill the whole screen (such as the emotional wounds picture in Appendix C). Due to this small problem, I had some trouble trying to fully comprehend one or two questions within this book which required the image to better answer. [Note: this was a defect in the original Kindle version: click here to see full chart.]

Overall, this book has a nice structure and provides thought-provoking questions which I fell has challenged myself to improve my walk with Christ. This is an excellent self-help resource for Christians who want to improve their spiritual life with Christ.”

   Posted by Samuel on Amazon.com on November 29, 2011.

A GUIDE for LISTENING to GOD ★★★★★ 5 of 5

“If you are a Christian and are not hearing from God in your daily prayer-life, then this book helps you to assess where you are struggling and where your life could open up and find greater communication with the Lord. If your prayer-life seems stifled, like you are talking to the ceiling, then this book will help you discover a different way of looking at how you talk to God. There are testimonies and stories of people who made discoveries in their prayer-life interspersed throughout the script. The Biblical basis for inner-healing Prayer is backed up through the text. This looks to be a good book for both individual and group study, and is written in a textbook format.”

Posted by P. Creeden "The Book Ninja" on Amazon.com on November 12, 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment